Every student, every day, preparing for the future.
Celebrating Derby, KS Writing Contest Results
Celebrating Derby, KS Writing Contest Results
This is the image for the news article titled Celebrating Derby, KS Writing Contest Results

In 2019, the City of Derby is celebrating 150 years. Derby Public Schools partnered with the Derby Noon Lions Club to host a fun, optional writing contest for students in grades K-12 who reside in the USD260 boundaries. Students were asked to share their vision for the future of Derby. We received 107 entries from grades K-12. Each entry received a participation certificate.

Below are the grade level winners who were recognized and received a medal at the April 22 Board of Education meeting. The Derby Noon Lions Club is also awarding a $1,000 scholarship to the winning senior.

Kindergarten – Chloe Harrison, Derby Hills Elementary
1st – Bryce Carlson, Park Hill Elementary
2nd – Brisa Torralbo, St. Mary Parish Catholic School
3rd – AnneMarie Kangas, St. Mary Parish Catholic School
4th – Amelia Leggett, Park Hill Elementary
5th – Megan Hays, Park Hill Elementary
6th – Kyle Miller, Derby North Middle School
7th – Addison Leggett, Derby Middle School
8th – Caleb Brown, Derby North Middle School (not pictured)
11th – Grace Shoemaker, Derby High School
12th – Amanda Drouhard, Derby High School

Congratulations to all of those who participated and thank you for sharing your vision for the future of the City of Derby!

For questions or to view the writing entry for each participant, please contact the Derby Public Schools Communications Office, 120 E. Washington, Derby KS 67037 or by e-mail to kgcarlson@usd260.com.

Writing Contest Grade Level WinnersWriting Contest Image
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.