Skip To Main Content

Kansas Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to Olivia Winegeart, 2nd-Grade Teacher at Cooper Elementary, and Ethan Wagoner, Band Teacher at Derby Middle School on being named our district's nominees for Kansas Teacher of the Year (KTOY) for 2025. Additionally, we are proud to share that Mrs. Winegeart was named a Region IV finalist and will go on to compete for Kansas Teacher of the Year for 2025!

Every school district in Kansas may nominate one exemplary elementary classroom teacher and one exemplary secondary classroom teacher for KTOY through the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE). This year, 120 educators across the state were nominated for the distinction. From these nominees, 24 semifinalists were selected. Of those, eight were named as finalists. One will then be selected as the Kansas Teacher of Year in the Fall of 2024. Members of the KTOY team, comprised of the current Kansas Teacher of the Year and state finalists, serve as ambassadors for education in Kansas. They make public appearances across the state to promote education and the teaching profession.

The KTOY program recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. Its mission is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession.

Please join us in celebrating Mr. Wagoner and Mrs. Winegeart!